Weekly mileage – 19/09/09

Commute: 68 m

Bike@work: 8 m

Runs: 9 m

Total Joolz leg-powered travel : 85m

I had a big, bad-ass commute on Monday, 25 miles each way to a training course. I’ve done it before,  and although this time my knees faired batter afterwards, my exhaustion-level was pretty bad! At 2 hours each way, it’s only half as fast to drive it,  so that’s not too bad going I suppose!

Monday’s mega-mileage took all my pizazz for the rest of the week, so I just stuck to one half-day on the mountain bike at work and two days of my normal 9 mile commute.

Sunday was the furthest I’ve ever run without stopping – 6 miles! woo-hoo! I ran it with about 70% effort, as it’s more important for me to just do the mileage on my long runs than to get some amazing time.  1 hour dead was the time, so I’m happy with 10min-mile pace.  The distance is going up by a mile a week, in order for me to have any chance of completing a half-marathon in a month’s time.  I’m having trouble with keeping myself hydrated now though – I bought a ‘Nathan’ lumbar pack bottle holder, but it bumps about too much and the belt doesn’t stay in place. I don’t like the idea of holding a bottle in my hands, as I like them to be free to blow my nose, use my ipod and fend off tramps/wild dogs/feral children. I thnk there’s another blog post in there…hydration systems for runners. If anyone is reading this and would like to comment, don’t be shy!

Leave a Reply

